Error code E4 on Thermostat

Have a question about your Creek or your generators, refrigerators and other related electrical/mechanical questions? This is the place to ask.

Moderators: Executive Board, Regional Directors

Error code E4 on Thermostat

Postby jimandchez » Sun Jan 09, 2011 8:41 am

We woke up this morning with no heat (outside temp 45d) and really cold. I checked the thermostat and it shows an error code of E4. Does anyone know what this indicates? I checked the owners NO-information manuals and of course they don't tell you anything. I checked the internet but no help. Any suggestions of what to check would be greatly appreciated.

Cold Jim
Jim & Cheryle Weaver
2014 36CKTS
2013 Ford 6.7 Diesel
ImageImage
User avatar
jimandchez
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 7:31 am
Location: Commerce, Ga.

Re: Error code E4 on Thermostat

Postby whooboy » Sun Jan 09, 2011 9:01 am

Jim, that happened to mine when it was in storage. Bottom line is we replaced the thermostat. Dometic is the manufacturer and it may still be under warranty.
Pete and Jane Brandon
Jack & Ted
Las Cruces, NM
2009 36 CKTS
2006 Chevy Silverado 3500 DRW CC Duramax/Allison
ImageImage
User avatar
whooboy
Region 8 Director
 
Posts: 1794
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 3:51 pm
Location: Las Cruces, NM

Re: Error code E4 on Thermostat

Postby jimandchez » Sun Jan 09, 2011 11:15 am

Pete,

Thanks. I feel that it is the thermostat. I get no indication that the A/C is connected when I try to change from the furnace to A/C. I'll call FR tomorrow and see what I need to do. It may or may not be in warranty. Thanks again.

Jim
Jim & Cheryle Weaver
2014 36CKTS
2013 Ford 6.7 Diesel
ImageImage
User avatar
jimandchez
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 7:31 am
Location: Commerce, Ga.

Re: Error code E4 on Thermostat

Postby dickhix1 » Sun Jan 09, 2011 1:01 pm

Jim - had the problem awhile back and fixed it by pulling the 12 volt fuse in the fuse box, waiting about 30 secs and then putting the fuse back in. I was then back in business. Assume something got reset when I removed the power from the thrmostat. By the way - ended up pulling a couple of different fuses before I found the correct one. Labels in the fuse box leave a lot to be desired. When the thermostat screen went completely blank I knew I found the right one.
Hope this helps
Dick
Dick and Peggy Hicks

10 36RE
2011 RAM 3500 Laramie Longhorn Crew Cab 4X4 Long Bed, 50 gal. xfer tank
Image Image
User avatar
dickhix1
Region 3 Director
 
Posts: 999
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 1:05 pm
Location: Huntsville, AL.

Re: Error code E4 on Thermostat

Postby jimandchez » Sun Jan 09, 2011 5:31 pm

Dick,

Thanks. I haven't tried that yet. I didn't see any 12v fuses that had anything to do with furnace or thermostat so I didn't try. I'll start pulling until the display goes out and see what happens.

Jim
Jim & Cheryle Weaver
2014 36CKTS
2013 Ford 6.7 Diesel
ImageImage
User avatar
jimandchez
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 7:31 am
Location: Commerce, Ga.

Re: Error code E4 on Thermostat

Postby jimandchez » Sun Jan 09, 2011 6:42 pm

Dick,

I pulled the 12v fuse and left it out for about a minute. No help. E4 still flashing.

Jim
Jim & Cheryle Weaver
2014 36CKTS
2013 Ford 6.7 Diesel
ImageImage
User avatar
jimandchez
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 7:31 am
Location: Commerce, Ga.

Re: Error code E4 on Thermostat

Postby dickhix1 » Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:40 am

Sorry about that. I guess it was worth a try. Let us know if you fuind the problem or have to replace it.
Dick
Dick and Peggy Hicks

10 36RE
2011 RAM 3500 Laramie Longhorn Crew Cab 4X4 Long Bed, 50 gal. xfer tank
Image Image
User avatar
dickhix1
Region 3 Director
 
Posts: 999
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 1:05 pm
Location: Huntsville, AL.

Re: Error code E4 on Thermostat

Postby jimandchez » Tue Jan 11, 2011 4:43 pm

I called Dometic and they said it was either the thermostat or the control board in the AC unit. A tech is coming out Thurs. to work on it. I'll let you know what he finds. Thanks for the tips on things to check.

Jim
Jim & Cheryle Weaver
2014 36CKTS
2013 Ford 6.7 Diesel
ImageImage
User avatar
jimandchez
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 7:31 am
Location: Commerce, Ga.

Re: Error code E4 on Thermostat

Postby jimandchez » Sat Jan 22, 2011 7:45 am

OK. Furnace and A/C are finally repaired. It turned out it was the "freeze or low temperature unit" that was bad. It was a long blue wire with a thermo couple device on the end. A week to get the part and 3 minutes to replace it.

Jim
Jim & Cheryle Weaver
2014 36CKTS
2013 Ford 6.7 Diesel
ImageImage
User avatar
jimandchez
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 7:31 am
Location: Commerce, Ga.

Re: Error code E4 on Thermostat

Postby Ray and Linda » Sat Jan 22, 2011 8:06 am

Great Jim, glad you have that fixed and Thank you for posting the repair...see you soon
2004.36rlts custom with all the goodies
2007 Chevy 3500 crew duramax allison 4x4 ..and all the rest

Tobie..# 1 Driver
Linda # 1 Boss
1/3 of the bad boys
Image
User avatar
Ray and Linda
Website Monitor
 
Posts: 1640
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 3:27 pm
Location: Sevierville,Tennessee

Re: Error code E4 on Thermostat

Postby whooboy » Sat Jan 22, 2011 8:14 am

jimandchez wrote:OK. Furnace and A/C are finally repaired. It turned out it was the "freeze or low temperature unit" that was bad. It was a long blue wire with a thermo couple device on the end. A week to get the part and 3 minutes to replace it.

Jim


Where is this unit? On the furnace? A/C? Why would it go bad in winter and keep the furnace from working? Inquiring minds would like to know.
Pete and Jane Brandon
Jack & Ted
Las Cruces, NM
2009 36 CKTS
2006 Chevy Silverado 3500 DRW CC Duramax/Allison
ImageImage
User avatar
whooboy
Region 8 Director
 
Posts: 1794
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 3:51 pm
Location: Las Cruces, NM

Re: Error code E4 on Thermostat

Postby splashers3 » Sat Jan 22, 2011 11:25 am

...that makes at least 2 of us. Hope to see an answer.

Mike
Mike, Carol & Tim; and our newest RVer - Lily (Golden Retriever).
Our Golden, Tracy, is waiting at the Rainbow Bridge
08 GMC Sierra 2500 D/A, CC,
09 Silverback GII 32 WRL
User avatar
splashers3
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 2:03 pm
Location: Mechanicsville, MD

Re: Error code E4 on Thermostat

Postby jimandchez » Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:21 pm

Sorry for the delay in answering. We just got back from a 7 day cruise.

The part is in the A/C unit but it controls both the A/C and furnace. I haven't done any experimenting but I think if I had unplugged the part from the A/C controller the furnace might have worked. I'll try that later and see what happens.

Jim
Jim & Cheryle Weaver
2014 36CKTS
2013 Ford 6.7 Diesel
ImageImage
User avatar
jimandchez
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 7:31 am
Location: Commerce, Ga.

Re: Error code E4 on Thermostat

Postby Foothills » Mon Jan 31, 2011 12:01 pm

Jim and Chez Glad to hear your thermostat problem has been fixed. Thanks for letting us know how it was fixed.
For those with inquiring minds, I give you the following:
My thermostat is two program, 2 zone control unit with heat, A/C and off. I don't remember have a problem when using the A/C but now we're experiencing. I set the mode to heat, time to 7:00 AM and 10:00 PM, temp at 66 and 58 and zone to 1. Zone two is the bedroom and only the 2nd A/C is allowed no heat operation. Just a straight forward like at home setting. The strange thing that occurs is at 12 noon and 12 midnight, the thermostat changes to the next program in the case of 12 noon to program 2. At 1 PM and 1 AM the thermostat changes back to the "correct" setting. I've talked to the Dometic service center and they do not know what is going on and suggest I take the rig to a Dometic repair center for analysis. The center will deal with Dometic about any warranty issues. In the interim, I turn the thermostat off when I go to bed and if I wake up between 1 AM and 7 AM I turn it back on. Don't have any issues with the 12 noon to 1PM hour.
Any comments, etc would be welcome.
Bob & Sue Lyon
Elk Grove, CA
TREASURER
2011 34RLSA 7K Dexter Axles with Dexter EZ-Flex
2009 Chevy Silverado CC 3500 HD SWD LTZ 6.6L Duramax - Allison trans
Hensley Trailsaver BD3
ImageImage
User avatar
Foothills
Treasurer
 
Posts: 711
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 9:18 pm
Location: Elk Grove, CA

Re: Error code E4 on Thermostat

Postby davidk4x4 » Mon Jan 31, 2011 1:09 pm

So being a soon to be owner of one of these Great Tstats, is there a way to switch to a good old Hunter Tstat like I installed in my old trailer

I know back then it only controlled one AC and one heater but one could add a switch (or two) to allow selection of one or both AC, they would then cycle on and off at the same time

Just thinking outside the box

If all goes well I hope to be expecting after the snow storm of the century

David
David

2012 Ford F-250 6.7L DRW 4x4
2012 Cedar Creek 36RE
Image
User avatar
davidk4x4
Site Admin
 
Posts: 677
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 9:40 am
Location: Owasso, OK Oklahoma State Representative

Next

Return to Tech Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users